My Interpretation of the Preliminary Task Brief

The brief was to create a video of no less than 20 shots depicting the four techniques explored in the preliminary task:

Action Match, 180 degree Rule, Shot Reverse Shot and Eye Line Match

With the story line following this narrative at some point:

“A character opens a door, walks across a room, sits down opposite another character and exchanges two sentences.”

I have decided to set the plot around a boy having to tell his girlfriend something. The boy begins upstairs, playing a game on his Nintendo 3DS, he receives a text saying ‘You have to tell her today!’ He decides to ignore the text and returns to playing his game. Then his girlfriend calls up the stairs telling him to come down and have dinner. So he begrudgingly turns off the game and walks downstairs and into the kitchen. He sits opposite his girlfriend and awkwardly says ‘Hi.‘ she says ‘Hey‘ back. He then sits there looking at her trying to bring himself to say what he needs to say… He says ‘Rosie?’ The girlfriend replies ‘Yes?’. He hesitates for a while bringing himself to speak and finally confess ‘I’m an alien’. After some very dramatic extreme close up shots the girl happily says ‘I know’.

My Eye Line Match:

  1. I will do an Eye Line match of the boy looking at the phone reading the text, then a shot of the text.

My Action Match:

  1. I will do an action match of the boy leaning down to pick up his jumper, then a shot of his hand picking up the jumper.
  2. I will do an action match of the boy walking out of the bedroom and then down the stairs, 5 shots from different angles.

180 Degree Rule:

  1. I will follow the rule when filming and planning the conversation, making sure to remain on the same side of each character.

Shot reverse shot:

  1. Throughout the conversation between the boy and the girl I will use shot reverse shots as the boy looks nervous and the girl smiles.

Leave a comment